Slideshow and module by
  • South African Weather Service still the authoritative supplier of Weather Forecasts and information for South Africa

SAWS Background


The South African Weather Service (SAWS) is a Section 3(a) public entity under the Ministry of Water and Environmental Affairs and is governed by a Board of Directors. The company became a public entity on 15 July 2001 in terms of the South African Weather Service Act (No. 8 of 2001). It is an authoritative voice for weather and climate forecasting in South Africa and as a member of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) it complies with international meteorological standards. As an Aviation Meteorological Authority, SAWS is designated by the state to provide weather services to the aviation industry, marine and a range of other identified clients and to fulfill a range of international obligations of the government. We provide two distinct services, namely public good services that are funded by government, and paid-for commercial services. The South African Weather Service's countrywide observational network consists of:

214 Automatic Weather Stations (AWS)
25 Climate Stations (1 x 1st order, 3 x 2nd order & 21 x 3rd order stations)
1277 Rainfall Stations
131 Automatic Rainfall Stations
23 Sea Surface Temperature Stations
12 Voluntary Observing Ships
50 Weather buoys in the South Atlantic and South Indian Ocean
14 Meteorological Radar Systems
1 Global Atmosphere Watch Station at Cape Point
2 Dobson Ozone Spectrophotometre Stations in Irene and Springbok. (A third to operate at Cape Point)
1 Baseline Surface Radiation Network Station in De Aar
A national UVB Biometer network
24 Lightning Detection Sensors (excluding 1 in Swaziland)
6 Air Quality Measuring and Monitoring Stations (DEA infrastructure being maintained by SAWS)
10 Upper-air Sounding Stations with Irene also conducting ozone soundings

For the best browsing experience use Google Chrome or Firefox.

2013. South African Weather Service
South African Weather Service